Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)| Kamloops Branch

The Canadian Mental Health Association is a national nonprofit organization made up of provincial bodies and local branches. The Kamloops branch is one of 23 in British Columbia. CMHA Kamloops is dedicated to raising awareness and promoting the mental health of all people and this is achieved through the services offered directly through the Clubhouse programs, advocacy, volunteer opportunities and public education.

Interior Health Authority (IHA)

Interior Health Authority was established as one of five geographically-based health authorities in 2001 by the Government of British Columbia. It is responsible for ensuring publicly-funded health services are provided to over 742,000 residents of the Southern Interior. Interior Health Authority serves a large geographic area covering almost 216,000 square kilometres including larger communities like Kamloops, as well as a multitude of more rural and remote communities.

Q’wemtsin Health Society

An assembly of healthcare professionals who believe in providing holistic health services to the Secwepemc communities, such as the Skeetchestn, Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc and Whispering Pines /Clinton Indian bands. The Q’wemtsin Health Society provides services to these communities with programs such as home and community care, prenatal, addictions counseling and public health services.

Thompson Region Division of Family Practice (TRDFP)

A non-profit group established to give family physicians input into healthcare needs of patients. The TRDFP works collaboratively with the Interior Health Authority and the BC government’s Ministry of Health Services to find solutions to healthcare issues and provides advocacy and peer support for doctors. TRDFP also offers help for financial management issues, technological support for medical practices and provides mentorship and assistance in helping doctors get their practices up and running.